Am I too old for Christmas Wish Lists?

Some seem to think that at nineteen years old I should already have a healthily developed sense of maturity and responsibility. And with this, I am certainly in accord. But….but…does this ‘maturity’ extend so far as mean that Santa Claus no longer exists? It cannot be! As a writer and a reader and therefore an accomplished imaginer, I declare that I am forever entitled to believe in whomever I like…And so to the grand point of this blog article: my Christmas Wish List. You may scoff at the fact that I still write one but I dub it as a ‘Cheers!’ to my eternal youth.

As every word addict comes to realise at one point or another, reading can be expensive. Sure you can go to the library and read books for free but if you’re a special breed of addict, the kind who adores owning books as much as actually reading them, then you’ll appreciate the significant financial impact of this literary addiction. It is for this reason that I use every opportunity, inclusive of Christmas, birthdays and congratulatory occasions, to drop hints about the deepest desires of my nerdy heart. And this year, I have so far compiled a list that reads as such:

  • The Portable Dorothy Parker – Dorothy Parker

The Portable Dorothy Parker Cover

  • A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole

A Confederacy of Dunces Cover

  • A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn Cover

  • Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolfe – Edward Albee

Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolfe Cover

  • It – Stephen King

It Cover

Have you read these books? Do you think they’re worthy of a place on my Christmas Wish List (the last on my adolescence!)? Do you have any books that you’d love for Santa to bring you this year?

6 thoughts on “Am I too old for Christmas Wish Lists?

  1. Wow! You have really good taste! I haven’t read any of those, but I’m the type of person who judges books by their covers (sorry)! Where do you discover those books? Is there a website or something?

    • Hi, thanks! Don’t worry; I judge by cover art as well. And no site, just an accumulation of random discoveries and recommendations! Check out my ‘Books to Read in 2012’ page for a list of books that have mostly been recommended to me by fellow bloggers! Happy reading X

  2. Not old at all – I’m 34 and have three children and married – my mom and dad still ask me for a list. Hubby thinks it’s silly. I almost always add books or at least an Amazon card to load more books on my Kindles. I really want to read “Stepping Heavenward” but I go back and forth there are also many G. A. Henty books on my list and I think you should add “Gone with the Wind” 😀

    • Oh that sounds so wonderful! I hope my parents still put their Santa hats on when I’m married and all moved out! I shall investigate ‘Stepping Heavenward’ and G.A. Henty’s books, but I already own a copy of Gone With the Wind! 🙂

      • LOL I’m a big kid when it comes to Christmas. I think every woman should own a copy of GWTW – I think I have four or five I lose count now if I could find a reliable Kindle copy I’d have that too, I grab copies when I can afford it.

Leave a Reply

