Who was your first love?

Book Love

They say your first love is intense…and this is true. I fell hard, at age eleven, and have since been irrevocably rapt by the magical world of witchcraft and wizardry. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, my first literary love, was certainly a real book and was followed by six others, each as exquisite as their predecessors. But they have not been my only loves…my heart has been passed around the library quite a bit, its strings plucked by the likes of Life of Pi, Tomorrow When the War Began and The Five People You Meet in Heaven.

According to J.K. Rowling, whose word no one can dispute given her literary crown, “If you don’t like to read you haven’t found the right book.”

Have you fallen in love yet? Multiple times? To whom?

7 thoughts on “Who was your first love?

  1. I think I first fell in literary love with Alan Garner, and his whole series, including ‘The Weirdstone of Brisingamen’. Too many to name after that – now I feel a bit of a fllibbertigibbet!

  2. I’ve fallen in love with Goosbumps and Fear street, with Sweet Valley, with Harry potter and a whole lot more. I wasn’t a reader until I started Goosebumps and Sweet Valley as a pre-teen, so I guess they are my first love?

Leave a Reply

