Who are you literary lovers?

For me personally, winter is an excuse to don thick socks, drink copious amounts of delicious, hot liquids and curl up in bed with a bookish best friend. It’s only May, what is supposed to be an Autumn month, and yet my little Australian city feels as if it’s aspiring to be Antarctica when it grows up. I am chilled to the core. But although I devote an excessive chunk of energy to complaining about the icy weather, it really does have its perks and I will be the first to confess that as soon as the temperature drops below my comfort threshold, I leap into bed with a book and shamelessly ignore the rest of the universe.

Snuggling with books. Who needs friends and family and boyfriends and girlfriends and peers and colleagues when you can set up camp in front of the heater with a literary lover whom you know will never leave? When my fingers and toes are at risk of turning purple and my mind is too distracted by the prospect of hot tea to be at all productive, I guiltily pluck one of the old favourites from my shelf. If it’s not Harry Potter (which, let’s face it, it most often is), then it’s Alice in Wonderland or Tomorrow, When the War Began or Life of Pi.  And for hours upon hours, I wildly party with my most cherished characters…my bookish best friends!

Books and Coffee

My question on this cold Australian day is this: am I a complete and total freak, utterly alone in my love for cuddling books? Or, do you too confess to indulging in this guilty winter pleasure every once in a while?

Who are your literary lovers? Who are your bookish best friends?

15 thoughts on “Who are you literary lovers?

  1. You are not alone! I have to say….bookish lovers are amazing! I cuddle up most often with poetry, Little Women, Sarah Addison Allen’s books! (have you read any of hers by the way?!)
    I can’t believe it is still cold where you live! I wore shorts and a short sleeved shirt to school today!

  2. Mine strangely is American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld. It isn’t my favorite book, but when I am wanting something familiar I read the same middle chapters of the book.

  3. I was JUST contemplating going back to bed with a book … you certainly are not alone! I’ll read anything (I’m trying to expand my reading habits), though I get nostalgic and read “The Little Prince” and “Letters to a Young Poet” when I really want to feel luxurious and snuggle deep under the covers.

    • The Little Prince is such a charming book! And I know what you mean…I do tell myself that I ought to be reading fresh material but sometimes…I just can’t help but reread my favourites.

      • They’re favourites for a reason 😉 I recently enjoyed “The Language of Flowers” by Vanessa Diffenbaugh and re-read Neil Gaiman’s “American Gods” … both of which were late-night reads that kept me up until the early hours of the morning (a typical situation for me and my reading habits).

  4. I surely told you before, but what a great blog you have. It’s like entering a cosy flat full of classics books, classical music in the background and a clear sky out the window. x

  5. I wish I could say all my heavy-going classics come out, but that would be a terrible lie! Anything light hearted is my go to – Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, Jennifer Crusie and Fiona Walker are my usuals! Haha

  6. The Life of Pi–a great book I think I’ll re-read..:-)
    Now I am reading William Faulkner..I love, love to read….

  7. I think reading in bed is one of life’s greatest pleasures! Young adult fiction is definitely a good choice when one is feeling coldy/flu-y and in need of snuggling. I remember once when I was home sick from school I re-read half of the Animorphs series in about a day… I ploughed through the books in about half an hour each. It was great!

Leave a Reply

