Do they have bookstores in New York City?

I have some very exciting, very unrelated-to-books news to share with you all and although I dedicate my blog to feeding your inner nerds, I cannot help but do a little shameless gushing today.

Are you ready?

On behalf of the admissions committee, it is my honor and privilege to share with you that you have been admitted to the College of Arts and Science at New York University. Congratulations! I could not be more excited to welcome you to NYU.

This is what I read at 8:32 this morning and although the letter was cut and trimmed with all of the formalities that you’d expect (“Dear”, “Yours Sincerely”, “Your next step is…”), this is the only sentence that I read before transforming into a shocked and giddy humanisation of the Cheshire Cat, grinning like a maniac and subsequently scaring my brother. I am a member of the New York University’s Class of 2016!

You’ll all be proud to know that I was miraculously accepted after having written about Harry Potter on my application. This probably wan’t the pivotal aspect of my admission but we can just pretend that it was, can’t we? In response to the question ‘What Intrigues You?’ this is what I wrote:

I turn eleven and I run to the mailbox, survey the fireplace and check the doormat. Where is my letter from Hogwarts?

Along with numerous other children and adults alike, I have been spellbound by J.K. Rowling’s realm of wizardry and witchcraft. For centuries, the fictional works of poets, authors and playwrights have captured our imaginations with stories of magic and it should not be denied that we have eagerly leapt onto the pages of Dracula and a Midsummer Night’s Dream, seeking a kind of exhilaration that only magic can provide. But these stories are just that: stories. Like no other author in history, J.K. Rowling did not simply write a series of books; she built a whole, new world.

Over the course of six years, I attended Hogwarts, sent letters by owl, fought the Dark Arts and played Quidditch. I spent hours upon days absorbed in the world of Harry Potter and have thus grown up in awe of J.K. Rowling’s vivid imagination. Born on a delayed train journey in 1990, the Harry Potter sensation has since manifested itself in the forms of books, films, theme parks, webpages, games and groups. Harry, Ron and Hermione may be fictional characters but have had a very real and unparalleled impact on humankind, igniting imaginations, nurturing literacy and exuding messages of love, friendship and morality. As a child of the Harry Potter era, I will always have a place in my heart and in my imagination for Hogwarts and all of its inhabitants.

So, thank you, J.K. Rowling. And thank you, New York University. And thank you, Harry Potter.

19 thoughts on “Do they have bookstores in New York City?

Leave a Reply

