Spreading the Blogger Love

Versatile Blogger Award

The story of why this made my day yesterday (feel free to skip this entire section for the sake of your sanity):

I wake up, I get to the office, I boil the kettle (because nobody is safe until I am adequately caffeinated) and I stumble sleepily to my desk. Oh, Tuesday, how I abhor you. You already suck and it’s only 8:15 in the godforsaken morning. The photocopier from hell sits behind me gurgling and humming like some hibernating beast though little does it know, its days are numbered. If it keeps spitting my paper back at me without doing as I instruct, I may just have to borrow someone’s sledgehammer and teach the stupid contraption a lesson about how best to survive a Tuesday morning in my company. Tip one: do as I say or die.

I decide that today is not the day for me to commit mass homicide (not sure that I’d find jail too comfortable) so something ought to be done about my violently foul mood.  Let’s blog! Yes, yes I do love to blog and it usually manages to markedly improve my mood. Having recently finished the delightful little book, ‘The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde’, I set about reviewing it and finish doing so in record time. I proofread my work and actually like what I’ve written. Hoorah! “Publish”. This is where things go horribly, heinously, dangerously wrong. An error. A godforsaken error sent straight from the fiery pits of hell and involving the complete and total loss of my work, bar the title. You may suggest that saving my work as I went along would have resembled something like common sense but common sense is actually quite foreign in my world. My darling, precious article…gone. Poof.

I start again in a blind rage, just about bruising my finger tips with the force of my furious typing. It’s a damn good thing that my particular brand of laptop is physically hardy and can thereby survive the brunts of my tantrums. Spelling mistake after grammar error after incorrect sentence structure, I splatter my virtual page with a mess of word vomit. Yay for all my readers… Fortunately though, I’ve inhaled another two cups of coffee and I’m starting to touch base with sanity again so I have the sense to not post my manic spiel that resembles a rant, rather than a review. I give my backspace key a bit of a workout and some thirty minutes later… voilà! A publishable review! And I feel a little better.

My marginal mood improvement is set on fire not too long after however, by an incessant stream of stupid, mindless, inane and idiotic questions, tasks and work-related mood-killers. Tuesday, let me reiterate my former sentiment: I hate you with the fire of a thousand suns.

So, when logging onto my blog upon arriving home, it was with delight, euphoria and ecstasy that I discovered a message about the Versatile Blogger Award. This, ladies and gentlemen, saved Tuesdays from being banished entirely from my calendar.

Now, to the actual point of this post:

The angelic blogger who nominated me for this gem of an award was Kasia from Writer’s Block, and she should know just how appreciative I am. This wonderfully fun award comes with a wonderfully fun set of rules and they (copied straight from Writer’s Block) are as follows:

  1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post. 
  2. Share 7 things about yourself.
  3. Pass this award along 15 or 20.
  4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

Share 7 things about yourself:

  1. I was born in Zimbabwe but moved to Australia with my family when I was only seven years old.
  2. I am an aspiring actress with a taste also for writing.
  3. I am a vegan though I despise tofu and would happily live entirely off peanut buttered toast and potato chips.
  4. My favourite films are ‘Into the Wild’, ‘The Shawshank Redemption’, ‘Shutter Island’ and ‘Outbreak’.
  5. I am painfully awkward in most social situations and would far rather have a movie night than go clubbing.
  6. I am mathematically challenged. I adore words but despise numbers.
  7. I’m seriously contemplating moving to the United States before the end of 2012.

Pass this award along to 15 other bloggers:

My recipients of this award are all wonderful blogs with wonderful posts and wonderful authors and it is with absolute pleasure that I nominate them:

Now that I’ve completed the four steps of being a recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award, I can sit back and grin like a maniacally happy blogger, fully recovered from traumatic Tuesday.

13 thoughts on “Spreading the Blogger Love

  1. I loved your rant! Oh, how often do I wish I could go into a good rant, or maybe a tantrum, drumming my hands and heels on the floor and bellowing. But somehow some remnant of self-dignity restrains me. So far anyway.
    Loved your list – I visited Africa last year, but didn’t make it to Zimbabwe. There were lots of Zimbabweans (is that right?) in South Africa though.
    Congratulations again!

    • Thank you! It felt good writing it, getting it all out.
      Yes, there are thousands of Zimbabweans scattered all over the world, forced out of Zimbabwe by the corruption and violence of the current government. South Africa and Australia are swarming with Zimbabweans!
      And thank you again for the delightful nomination!

  2. Congrats.. well deserved and “Into the wild” is one of my favorite books & movies.
    Thanks for spilling on yourself:-)

  3. Pingback: The story so far + recommended reading | maudlin tales

Leave a Reply

